Tried It: Pumpkin Pie Cheesecake Martinis

IMG_8045

 

While nursing in the middle of the night I surf the internet. Because of this I have completed all of our Christmas shopping and on a weekly basis find something to obsess about. Trust me, Jake has begged and pleaded for me to just find and read a book on my phone. I’ve already blown through the Hunger Games trilogy, Orange is the New Black and am currently in the middle of Elizabeth Gilbert’s (Eat, Pray, Love) latest book. I’m not a big reader so this many books is an accomplishment in itself. It’s just that in the middle of the night I’m just too sleepy to put in the effort of coming into enough consciousness to comprehend a book. So mindless internet shopping and surfing fits the bill more often than not. Which is how I came across this recipe for a pumpkin cheesecake martini via A Beautiful Mess

My original idea was to pawn the whole thing off on my soon to be sister-in-law. It’d be perfect for her to bring to Thanksgiving, no? She said no to that idea based off of the overly complicated recipe.

So what do we do instead? Had them over for an excuse to see fellow adults and also to try out the pumpkin cheesecake martini. Not pictured are the awesome cream cheese wontons and cookie dough dip they brought. Pictured are the skewers I made based off a pin and can I just say skewing things makes everything so glamorous? It went from a pile of salami, cheese and peppers to lovely skewers. I might skew everything for parties in the future. You’ve been warned. 

IMG_8052

IMG_8050The pumpkin cheesecake martinis were not good. Honestly, they were difficult to choke down, but we made the sacrifice of finishing them. There was just too much going on with the spices, the cream and the jello too. We tried it without pumpkin pie spice or jello and even with milk instead of cream to see if that’d make them a little more tolerable but they were just not good from top to bottom. Especially for the amount of effort and ingredients that went into them (I’m talking to you, $10 bottle of flavored vodka).
So perhaps dropping $20 on a signature drink for an evening in hopes if having a cocktail hour didn’t work out. But the company was pleasant.

Leave a Reply

