On giving up on Facebook

IMG_9508

This week I decided to give up on Facebook.

I’m embarrassed about how big of a deal it is, but I really did believe it was my only form of socialization. The days at home with the girls can get long and lonely and being able to look through the tiny slivers of people’s lives made it seem less isolating. Recently there was a study released that proves social media makes you feel like crap. After hearing this I began to wonder, is Facebook a benefit or actually a burden?

After one day I noticed a trend that rang truth to the study’s claim; I felt dumb after leaving a comment. I felt bad that I haven’t gone out in awhile. I missed my family. I was jealous. You get the idea. It certainly didn’t leave any fuzzy feelings of confidence, support or happiness I had tricked myself into believing it did. In reality it left me feeling annoyed, incapable and feeling left out.

With that in mind I blocked it from my desktop computer and tried my damnedest to uninstall the app on my phone. I then set forth into the barren Facebook-less wilderness armed with, nothing. (Points if you can tell me what movie that line is from. “Here, have a scone. If you need money, ask me, I’m very rich.”)

All the concerns I used to psyche myself into believing why Facebook was necessary were proven bumpkiss within hours. Grandparents still see pictures of the girls, they’re just messaged directly to them or here on the blog. I have joined a group which has given me the opportunity to leave the house and socialize in real-time with real people. If I want to know what my friends or family are up to, I pick up the phone and have actual meaningful conversations.This, come to find out, is what leaves me feeling refreshed and makes the day go by faster. Not the likes on my pictures or the comments from people I’ve never met.

I’ve caught myself numerous times thinking of great status updates only to realize that nobody really needs to hear about how I went to a new store or got a shitty bang trim. The world keeps revolving regardless of what mindless dither I blabber out to the internet. My creativity and effort is better spent elsewhere, like spraying round up on my weeds outside or assembling Ikea furniture.

Thus, this concludes the season of my life where I was glued to social media. It feels good to not be at a red light looking at Facebook. It feels good not knowing what people are doing. It feels good to be diverting that senseless attention to other, more meaningful things (like that three-year-old begging for my attention).

It just feels good, ya know?

 

2 thoughts on “On giving up on Facebook

Leave a Reply

