In Closing

It’s comes as no surprise that we’re moving, seeing as I’ve been schlepping every last thing we own on the internet for months. Each time I’ve taken a break from my social media sabbatical to post anything pertaining to the word “moving” I inevitably get a panicky text from family and friends inquiring what the hell is going on. Everything in our life has been quite public up until a few months ago and stepping back from the internet has proven….interesting and dare I say, refreshing.

That being said, here is one last blog post, because it just doesn’t feel right to disappear into the recesses of the internet without a final goodbye.
•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

20140612-212316-76996583.jpg

Two days is all the time it took. Two days after months of soul searching and dreaming. The for sale sign went in our yard on a Thursday. By Saturday we had our first offer on the house we’ve called our home for the past four years. Change was on the horizon and this was the opportunity we had hoped we could seize.

The door to our new home in a very new place was opened with the turn of a key two weeks later. As Norah crawled happily along the floors and Gwyneth excitedly chose her new room, we stood holding each other absorbing the excitement that was palpable. Daring to change the course of the life you’ve been dutifully leading takes risks and with it fear, which we knew all too well.

Standing in our new house in Lake Tahoe overlooking scenery that people travel far and wide to experience, the fears melted into the background as the joy and happiness took hold. This is where we are meant to be for the beginning of our next chapter, the perfect setting for an adventure.

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

And with that, I bid this blog adieu. It is time to keep the piece of my heart I’ve unabashedly shared on this blog a little closer to home, tucked away safely. Thank you for taking the time to read the words I so dearly love to write, for making me feel like what I had to say matters and for never letting me forget how adorable my children are. Thank you for it all.

Farewell dear internet, it’s been fun.

 

2 thoughts on “In Closing

  1. Marmee says:

    Wonderfully written! Exciting times are ahead – lives to be lived at full steam – with all our love behind you!

  2. portraitsbydiane says:

    Lauren, how exciting for you and Jake and the girls!!! I would love to live in Lake Tahoe, but thankful that it is only 30 minutes away from my doorstep. I hope that you post pictures of your darling girls on facebook. I think of you often and miss your smile.

Leave a Reply

